I’ve recently had a very exciting time on fellowship. Although there is the sadness of those graduating and their departure, there has also been a hum of excitement as I get all of my stuff sorted for my next semester on fellowship.

The beauty of this opportunity is that we’ve got a large amount of resources available to us and a truly supportive faculty. My passion has always been for women’s health and I’ve always wanted to pursue my interest further within the fellowship. Sadly, I got started on my projects slowly — this entire semester I’ve been so focused on getting a handle on teaching and being an active member of the department I didn’t really spend a lot of time on my own personal projects. Thus, as the semester wraps up and my duties around the department wind down, I’ve been able to meet with professors to reach my goals.

One of those goals was writing an abstract for the Somatic Connection. Happy to say, CHECK! I received an email yesterday: ” Dear Dr. Bell, A submission has been…” UM…I know I’m ‘student doctor’ but getting emails that say Dr Bell, from a scientific publication, about something I wrote…well, basically it was pretty cool. I hope it get’s submitted!!

On top of that I’ve been working hard to get together some OMT clinics that focus on women’s health and female complaints (ie: dysmenorrhea, chronic pelvic pain, pregnancy, post partum complaints, symptoms of menses, menopause, s/p breast CA complications etc…) Looks like those will come to fruition within the next few months.

YAY for progress and women’s health. Every time I find myself straying from my passion of women’s health and then I finally come BACK to that passion…I feel like I’ve found home again. I know, cheesy, but as soon as I’m working on it I think “what have I been doing, this is what I need to be doing, ALWAYS” agh, can’t wait for when I’m a practicing physician!

That is all. Off to watch Christmas movies with my sweet dog and husband. The lights are up, the christmas candy hasn’t stopped flowing, and I’m filled with joy for the season šŸ™‚

This is what my mom's dog was wearing when I arrived yesterday, tis the season x

