I slept in yesterday. I had class at 9am and have been battling a cold for the past week. I thought long and hard about whether or not to go (it is mandatory) but in the end, after emailing my group at 12am, I emailed my professor and said I wouldn’t be in.

We have these thigns called ‘small group’ which is literally a group of 8 students that we are mandated to meet up with for a designated period of time. In that time we are presented 5 cases relevant to our current topic in class (for us it was urology) and we diagnose, learn pathology & physiology, treat, follow up, and choose which lab tests we would commit to.

Yesterday I just couldn’t do it. So instead I slept in. I slept until 9:30 am, which is the latest I’ve slept in in weeeeekkksss, and it felt AMAZING. I literally woke up feeling like a new woman. I still have a cold, still have a runny nose + cough, but now I had a night of sleep behind me and it was awesome. The dog was out with the man on a hike, the house was quiet, the morning was slow and crisp and I felt well-rested.

That feeling is so rare that I literally feel like I’ve been reborn or something. This morning I woke up ready to study! I’m in the library and am actually excited to do my cases…strange.

Never underestimate the power of a mental health day or morning.

Yesterday in the afternoon I spoke on a panel to the first years about their upcoming class that will throw them for a loop. The molecular & cellular basis of medicine, essentially a review of our entire undergraduate careers in 6 weeks. The material isn’t difficult, but it’s a HUGE amount of work. They’re going to start questioning if they will make it, they will. It takes time to get used to it and get in the groove, but they will. When I look back on the days of MCBM, those were the glory days. I wish I had that class again, because what I’ve currently got going on is so much sadder.

I really can’t wait for this year to end already. Sorry to complain, but some days it just really sucks.

The good news? I got to spend last night at home with my man watching movies & goofing around. We both couldn’t remember the last Friday night we were able to do that…woohoo!

oldie but a goodie

Enjoy the day!

